More than a Housewife Blog No 1 : Sunday, February 6, 2022


This moment means a great deal. The moment where I’ve felt free enough to express myself again. Again, this pandemic has given us a lot of free time to reflect, mull over things we haven’t had the will or opportunity to think things through. I just hope each one of you who reads my blog is safe and happy doing whatever they love to.

Writing used to be my thing. At least till a few years back. Somewhere along the way I think I got busy in just the business of living. Doing the routine things, being mother to my daughter, Aditi and being Rajesh’s wife, supporting in whichever capacity I could. And all with happy perks. Watching Aditi grow into this 17 year old young woman feels nothing short of a miracle, and I am so proud of how she is doing and what I am trying too. Everyday, I have felt wonderful and fully complete being a Mom and a Mrs. Feeling whole is a good thing, especially during times when each one of us is trying hard to cope with stress and trying to live just a ‘normal life’. Our new normal simply means we get by everyday feeling okay and trying just enough.


Despite this, there comes a time when you realise time has so quickly flown by and you wonder what and how. Your child becomes an adult and we are *ahem* growing too. I feel I have to reset some of my life choices and begin a new chapter of my life, again, exploring and experiencing many other facets, including and transcending ‘Me’. While life keeps throwing curveballs, I don’t plan on catching them, but playing really to my strengths and living to the hilt.

Hopefully, this is the start I was hoping to find and give myself that push to pursue what I have truly enjoyed over years… writing, among other things! Why I stopped writing is for another day and time. What matters right now is I have begun. There’s so much to share, my ideas, bits of my life, experiences, learnings and lessons, shortcomings and milestones, and my pit stops.


Before I sign off, I just want to say that no matter what I am going through there’s a promise of tomorrow and more things to learn and joys to explore. The only thing that seems to matter is what I choose to believe and how I react to situations. If I choose not to react to negative situations, I win over abusive and mundane things we often carefully sweep beneath the rug. Not going to do that, will try to channelise towards bettering myself and maybe, pour my heart out to you guys and write right stuff.

And finally, I think I want to start a thing called ‘Link with a Zing’. Like the name suggests, this could be about anything / anyone, an inspiring story or an article that adds the extra sparkle and stirs our creative juices and gets us going.

I am personally very inspired by this book called Ikigai (the Japanese concept of one’s reason for being), which I have read and reread a number of times. Don’t miss this link as this has a treasure trove of info on the philosophy, tools of Ikigai, resources to get you started, examples of living according to Ikigai, and a solid take-home message. Plus, info on many books on Ikigai.
Thanks for reading my first blog, and please feel free to comment, give suggestions, ideas, and feedback too. I’d love to hear from all.

Until next time, stay safe ❤️.

Love & Hugs 🥀

Sangeetha Iyer

Insta: @rajsangaditi

15 Comments

  1. Mangalam Balasubramanian says:

    Very proud of you Sangeetha, love the blog, happy you started writing again. Proud parents. Keep writing.

    Mom & Dad

    Like

    1. Thank you amma appa 😍😍😍

      Like

  2. brs79in says:

    Dear Sang, loved your thought provoking first blog. It’s authentic and I as a person feel quite connected with your views in general here. Kudos to your efforts and creative writing. Welcome back to the world of pen, paper & creativity. This is where you truly belong. So happy to read it..

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot, Ravi. Means a lot . I’ll try my best to do more 💜🙏🏽

      Like

  3. rupal mamtora says:

    Beautifully penned fresh read ! Doesn’t seem like you ever disconnected from creative writing.
    It kept me hooked till I reached the end , long journey summarised so beautifully.

    Beautiful thoughts and suggestions , very best amd look forward to more blogs dear Sangeetha

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, dear Rupal. Your words mean a lot. Thanks for your encouraging words 💜🙏🏽

      Like

  4. Savita says:

    Nicely penned down Sangeetha. Beautiful thoughts, straight from the heart. Keep going dear.

    Like

  5. Thank you, dear Savita. It means a lot 💜🙏🏽

    Like

  6. Anonymous says:

    Wonderful blog..

    Like

  7. Mrs Goda says:

    Dear Sangeeta, so glad to see you back with your passion. I loved each and everything what you have written and I can completely relate to it. And first thing I noticed it is the title. I usually see ‘Me Mrs n Mom’ but they way you started (Mom Mrs n Me) I already can see tha change and uniqueness in your writing. I am proud of you and keep inspiring us with your writings. Lots of love ❤️

    Like

    1. Dear Goda — Your love and support mean so much to me. You have been there always. Thank youuuuuuu💜🙏🏽

      Like

  8. Ritu Mehra says:

    Dear Sangeetha,
    It was lovely reading your blog. Could connect with the feelings and emotions so well.
    Happy for you, to get back to your passion….keep it going, as, it’s important to light oneself up (as “ME”) before we light up lives around us as Mom, Mrs. and more….

    Lots of love and best wishes always.

    Like

  9. Ritu Bhargava Mehra says:

    Dear Sangeetha,
    It was lovely reading your blog. Could connect with the feelings and emotions so well.
    Happy for you, to get back to your passion….keep it going, as, it’s important to light oneself up (as “ME”) before we light up lives around us as Mom, Mrs. and more….

    Lots of love and best wishes always.

    Like

    1. Hey Ritu — Thanks so much, dear for your lovely comments and your inputs. So happy you could identify w my blog. That’s my happiest feedback 🙏🏽

      Like

Leave a Comment